The Roundup: Swine Flu Edition

12 02 2010

The Roundup is a compilation of recommended clicks this week in the world of surfing and beyond. If you have any suggestions, links, tips or want to donate product or cash to support a hungry blogger email me at nugable@gmail.com.

A Mavericks contest without Jeff Clark is like an issue of O Magazine without Oprah on the cover. Regardless, it’s a go for Saturday. (Maverickssurf.com)

Why surf blogs matter. Now I know what Navin R. Johnson felt like in The Jerk when he discovered his name in the phone book. (Surfer Magazine)

Mike Hynson talks about the famous scene in Rainbow Bridge when they stored hash in a Rainbow surfboard. (The Surfer’s Journal)

Mick Fanning offers President Obama surfing lessons? The horror. (Boardistan)

Rasta isn’t going to like this one bit. Is Billabong in bed with the bin Ladens? (Abtractlines.tv)

The Brown brothers on a boat? I’m speechless. Really I Am. (thebrownbrothers.com)

Looking for some concealable weapons? Look no further. (Dontevenreply.com)

The new face of the Republican party is Ronald Reagan? (The Onion)

Actions

Information

80 responses

12 02 2010
trauzersnake

Jeff Clark got fucked. Rainbow bridge was awesome-I’m having a flashback just thinking about it. Is that Mark riding that pig?? BTW-FIRST!!! you swine-cack sookling mo’fuckers!!

12 02 2010
Enoch Ward

Hope you get well soon Nug. Thanks for the links. I’m outtee for the weekend. See you all next week.

Cheers!

12 02 2010
Global cooling

Ha! And the dead Reagan would still beat Obama if election was held today. Landslide for sure.

12 02 2010
trauzersnake

RIP Luger guy. That is F’n GNARLY.

12 02 2010
Mike

Billabong is involved with slave labor already so it might not be a stretch…. of recycled trunks that is. Are there any “green” slave owners?

Alana is super sexy, but she may have a short shelf life. That Kauai sun is already showing signs of sea hag-itis…. (Roach Ballard) The other chick is a pig without lipstick.

Jeff Clark promoted his secret and now he’s out… lesson learned boys. I’m not feeling the glory anymore about these “big wave” events. Scary takeoffs into deep channels aren’t as rad Deserts footage. Waimea and Todos have jumped the shark and now Mav’s. Give me North Point going off anytime.

If I remember correctly ( I did have green pyramid glasses on ), but wasn’t Bertleman the star of RAinbow Bridge? Jimi, Larry and the band of gypsy’s… now that’s a classic… though I can’t remember a thing.

I sure hope “global cooling” isn’t who I suspect it is. May Reagan burn in hell ( although that option is highly exagerrated ). I think hell would be waking up in a basinet in Fallujah.

Check out the Brown Brothers latest release… “It’s raining men!”

@ Trauzer…. you’ll need a much larger pig for Mark, much much larger and you won’t have to hunt it if it gets away…. exhausted.

12 02 2010
trauzersnake

@Mike-

Bravo!! And I think I agree about a huge drop into a channel after seeing that fucking luge mishap. Fuck.

12 02 2010
Mike

Trauz…. what luge mishap?

12 02 2010
trauzersnake

that should’ve been “scary drp into a channel with jet ski’s ready to save you…and shuttle you the half-mile out there.” Not trying to be a computer tough guy-mucho respect to tjose guys…but wow, taint no luge.

12 02 2010
trauzersnake

@mike-

Olympic trials….you’ll see it.

12 02 2010
Mike

Gruesome… Tsnake. No margin for error. I thought sleds were fun, but putting them on ice was sketchy.

What Clark did was gnarly, paddling alone. Step off’s before the lip with a ski on alert? I’m not calling it bullshit either, but crazy pipe is gnarlier.

How about paddling into Cortes Banks!?

12 02 2010
Mike

Hope this doesn’t post twice….

Off topic, but it is roundup friday… http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=6sL-zMsRU8Y

Get well Nuggy!

12 02 2010
trauzersnake

I’m pulling for either Peter Mel or Skindog.

12 02 2010
Mike

Email campaign….

Where’s Jeff Clark? http://www.maverickssurf.com/info/index.php

12 02 2010
the ghost of Jeff Clark

what a wannabe corporate fuckfest….

the mission statement of the Mavericks branding… no hyperbole, toilet paper optional:

Mavericks is a world-renowned big wave break located one-half mile off the coast of Half Moon Bay, California.

Mavericks Surf Ventures, Inc. (a California C-corporation) owns and operates The Mavericks Surf Contest® and manages the Mavericks™ brand. Mavericks — “The Wave Beyond” — inspires hardcore athletes to face the unpredictably raw power of Mother Nature, and stirs the souls of all those who aspire to challenge their own limits and achieve the extraordinary.

12 02 2010
Ralph Nader

Volcom owns Pipe, now Mav’s has a registered owner, Goldman Sachs owns the US Senate… what is next?

12 02 2010
trauzersnake

What about when Jeff Clark pulled “the human abolone”on the rock? Shouldn’t the damn contest be named after him? Like in golf….and yeah, anytime Lopez visits “the Volcum house”…what the fuck is going on here??

12 02 2010
Louis Samuels

Trauzersnake….

Buy the domain name for “pipe house” and sell it to Volcum. I would, but Kala would punch me.

12 02 2010
Louis Samuels

As it is, I live in fear of Drew Courtney….

12 02 2010
Evan Slaters Conscience

Fuck Jeff Clark, I took off on that dude so many times that they should refer to him as MY wake.

12 02 2010
David Maleman

After getting a permission slip from my fiancee, I decided to fly to California to witness 24 assholes competing for Jeff Clarks legacy. I was greeted at the landing by a contingent of lawyers handing me a script of the contests results and the appropriate commentary which I will practice all night long.

Congratulations Flea.

12 02 2010
Flee Virotsko

I’d like to thank Mavericks incorporated, the great people at Mavericks surf apparel and the generous souls at Greenberg, Eisenstein, Steiner and Wolfowitz for guiding me to victory today. Pioneering this spot with Peter Mell and Skindoggy, I never anticipated my destiny as the icon of this brand, but I accept this honor as destiny and bask in the light of a well publicized pre-victory. I thank the Mavericks consortium, Yamaha watersports and of course, myself for discovering this break!

12 02 2010
Quiksilver International Inc.

In response to the maverick marketing program of the Maverick’s Big Wave Contest, we have made the decision to change the name of our Hawaiian equivilant.

From this day forward, we’ll drop the drowned moke surname and allow the true warrior his due.

Long live the Bob Mc Knight Waimea Pro!

“Bob would go!”

13 02 2010
stu

the only thing gayer than corporate mavs is Jeff Clark suing to get it back. And you’re wrong, Mike – Bruna ain’t no pig! EFF OBAMA!

13 02 2010
Demon

Surfing is gay’r than a $3 bill.

13 02 2010
jose feliciano

even i can see that obama and his posse are scary.

btw watch what u say on your cell phone or facebook. rules are a changin like a cold norther comin down montana”s valleys in spring.

adios

13 02 2010
trauzersnake

What’s up with that grip slater used on that putt @ 18 @ pebble beach today? Who cares, drained it- six-eight foot tester…that was pretty cool.

13 02 2010
trauzersnake

It was a great up and down from where he was in the ruff on the collar, too.

14 02 2010
Elwood

Too bad Slates and party boy Perez missed the cut at Pebble by a lot. You think with pumping surf up there Slates was thinking about something else…. that could spell trouble when the tour kicks off.

14 02 2010
karma

i came in the form of two waves at the mavericks contest and the 15 lawsuits that will be made……… how sweet i am………

14 02 2010
Maverick

Enoch Ward is a fucking homo kook.

True story bruhaim.

15 02 2010
Jamon Bagel

Free breakfast to Seth Wescott for owning Olympic gold in SBX. That is another sport with serious consequences. And he done it twice. I am an (im)pressed sandwich…

15 02 2010
Enoch Ward

@Maverick

From what I’ve heard, the first time is always the hardest. Eventually though, Meth is EASIER to ingest as your remaining brain cells meet the Laird and Saviour.

15 02 2010
Enoch Ward

It’s been roughly a week and eight days, yet The Nug has not posted. Color me worried. And by ‘worried,’ I mean I am fed up with the slow loading time of my favorite scat pr0n sites. There’s only so much ‘shit’ one can handle. KnowwhatImean??

Anyways, Nug: does it really take THAT long to rape an Ox? I mean, their legs fit so snugly in the front of your boot straps after a round of Zima’s and Rohypnol… what could possibly be taking you so long to finish? Its passionate maws alone should send you hurtling cock-first into the throes of ecstatic catharsis.

Ahhh. Yes.

Don’t tell me. You accidently bit down on the poor creature’s spine as you were about to expel minions of your Nuglet’s into the bovine’s posterior?

Well, we’ve all been there, my brother. We’ve all been there.

My advice?

Pull out a skootch before completion and finish on Maverick’s face.

He is… after all… a hungry little chap.

15 02 2010
Enoch Ward

I suspect that Maverick is another commentating stuffer from Stab Couture®.

15 02 2010
Enoch Ward

Hey Jed Smith:

Sally, Dick and Jane called. They think STAB is light reading; and its subesequent commentary to be slightly more stale than a wet fart released from King Tut’s tomb a few centuries later.

16 02 2010
Maverick

What is Stab?

16 02 2010
logo leaver

Yeah, whats up??? It only took me 3 days to get over the CLAP….. Herpes is another story!!!!

16 02 2010
Mike

@Enoch…

Brother EW… check the simple sentence structure and the call out that follows an obtuse “stab”…. forensic analysis leads to our favorite republican commenters doorstep from Alabama via Oahu cum Carlsbad. Suggesting an aussie could be to blame ignores the fact that the word cunt had not been typed in this entire thread…. leading to the logical conclusion that Nugable has not been infiltrated by any convicts.

And take it easy on Mr Nug ( although you were typically poetic ),

Nuggy get well and post anything… it’ll give the indians something to fight about and buy you enough time to recuperate in peace.

As for the Mavericks law suits…. how funny was that footage!? And the moron I defended was slogging around the lineup on a jet ski…. Jeff Clark, they stole your legacy and you didn’t have the esteem to skip the whole show, pathetic. May they all suffer the same fate they incurred on the surf break.

From an objective place…. I noticed how Santa Cruz got schooled, nary a flea or a mel to be found.

16 02 2010
logo leaver

I wuz waitin on ya to bring up Dale Jr.’s runner up finish, thanks yall

16 02 2010
logo leaver

However, isn’t our media great? The most famous person after the Mavs contest was a fat lady who broke her leg watching.

16 02 2010
Columbo, Barnaby Jones and magnum P.I.

My My. Isn’t Mike quite the budding little detective.

16 02 2010
the Honorable Siler McShaftus

Mark, the court is growing concerned about your escalating multiple personalit disorder. We believe this problem is posing a potential public safety ramifications. In addition, you are out of order, sir. You must be flogged in a public square.

I have ruled.

SMS

16 02 2010
Jamon Bagel

NUGGY…don’t make me start my own blog. I swear you all will regret it! POST, dammit!

16 02 2010
the Honorable Siler McShaftus

I have to inject, ur, I mean INTERJECT here…ah hem…I hear claims that Nug be compelled to post. If we examine the pattern, the roundup, which nearly ezclusively occurs on fridays, is usually not followed up upon by the aforementioned Nug until monday morning. And with the evidential matter derived from the apparent fact pattern of previous commentary above, the said Nug does not appear to be feeling up to par. Tplus there has been pretty decent swell running).

Many of you are out of order. The court suggests that an increase in commentary may be a mitigating factor in the circunstances.,.and please do not get me started on the case of Jeff Clark v. Maverick’s Surf Ventures, LLC. Or those saps that got donuts @ contest v. Maverick’s Surf Ventures, LLC. Perhaps Mark can post virtually the same comment under multiple aliases.

Well, I’m gonna get back to this bonghit, I mean er, uh, docket.

Peace

SMS, Esq.
(Enclosures)

16 02 2010
Elwood

errrr…

let’s chill out tards.

facts: The surf has been absolutely pumping in Cali the past 4 days… along with perfect weather. So who the F..k cares about posts when that’s happening. But while we’re on that topic…. Best winter ever in So. Cal???.. No doubt the best since 82/83. But I was only 13 years old then so I’m not the best source for comparison…. Mike????

The tour starts next week, so lets not blow our wad right now… got plenty to look forward to.

16 02 2010
trauzersnake

@Elwood-

98/99 was pretty good…unfourtunatly had to work for most of 09/10…and I was jackin’ off to the sears catalouge in 82/83….so…I dunno.

16 02 2010
Mike

@Elwood and Tsnake…

83 was ridiculous. South swell locales were off the hook and western exposures were overwhelmed. A winter that changed a state. Malibu was destroyed after a two month climax and El Cap was “discovered”. 38th Street in Newport beach had knee high waves running down the street flooding the basketball court( 6 feeet deep!). At the time, we all knew how special it was, but as dumb fools assumed our future would include another “glory” time. Lunada was Waimea with a wave after the drop. Swami’s was 25 foot and Uppers was triple overhead and perfect…. the cobble bank was pushed out a hundred yards. Sandspit broke two weeks straight and the “Star Bar” (Mc Grath) made Curren. Solid 15 foot Topanga LINKING into Charthouse. Needless to say, my college career suffered a one year hiatus. Everyone’s did.

January ’92 was siiiiiiiiiiiiick. High pressure, 90 degree temps and 3 weeks of massive west swells. People compare their home break to Pipe…. HB was Pipe for 2 straight weeks ( 10 foot flawless, glassy peaks all day). No wind. Lowers Bay had tubes. The ranch was all time…. and that’s all I will say about what was “secret” spots.

’97 was great…. Newport Point had a two week run that ruined my quiver and almost fucked my “career”. Reminded me of ’76, ’77. We trunked 38th street on thanksgiving day. Funny thing was…. a bunch of old carps invaded the point… expats from Peta that ruled on the shittiest boards, never seen em before or since. Made the “pros” look safe… Nug, ask Smirk.

I’m not raining on anyone’s ‘2010 parade because it has been fun. But consistent fun isn’t epic, it’s just much needed fun. Three consecutive bad years and we all have a jones to fix. Enjoy. I wish we all enjoy another run, but this year has just been back to business as what was usual…. except the crowds.

That’s what hurts… 10 years plus since the last epic stuff and there’s no honor in the past because heroin is only good the next shot. At least we are all surfing, and that’s a good thing. But it used to be really good, world class. Now it seems “surfline” good and old fucks like myself fall into a bad trap of “back in the day”. I’ll die hoping you guys score, so good luck… a fortune I took for granted.

16 02 2010
Elwood

@ Trauzer… the cruel irony of this winter is how much free time many of us have. Being 1/2 (un)employed I’ve surfed more this year than I have in the past 20 years… but with a family to raise a steady paying desk job don’t sound too bad right about now.

Quote of the year…. Swami’s about a month ago on a good overhead day: a semi-regular 40 year old surfer drops in a wave with 4 regular / semi – regular dudes dropping in front of him. He paddles back out after ping ponging through the wave and comments….. ” 5 of us took off on that wave and I know for sure I’m the only one that has a job”.

@ Mike: I do remember surfing perfect DOH Malibu in January ’83, so I know that was a special year. As for the other years… seems like late fall kinda is blended into the mix there. I was around and surfing and don’t remember the overall quality and consistency of this year. True, we haven’t had the 20’+ day this year, but there have been sooo many good days.

and Mike… good “Smerk” story… .was surfing O’side between south jetty and pier during the firestorm 3 years ago. Only blue sky in San Diego and perfect surf. There were a bunch of logo’d out dudes trying to claim it. Some old dude riding a board that looked like he got at a garage sale and cordless was picking off every perfect wave and getting insane barrels. The sponsored dudes were getting so frustrated I thought they were gonna start a fight. The dudes positioning and wave knowledge was so uncanny that it stuck in my head for a long time…. then a few months later someone pointed out that it was Smerk. Chalk one up for the old dudes.

16 02 2010
trauzersnake

@mike-

How about lowers july 25-28 1996 @ lowers….and the numerous days preceding those @ uppers, o’side harbor etc? I guess life is good at some point no matter what point!

16 02 2010
trauzersnake

What ever happened to “Ballz” from postsurf? Think he’s on facebook?

17 02 2010
Enoch Ward

I only wish I had the youth and posterity of you greenhorns. I remember the vaunted swell of 1940 like it was only seventy years ago. Fidel had just invited his Ruskie’s to position their swine just off the coast of his beloved Pearl Harbor. The lineups were empty, the alcohol was prohibited by the government, and they were building nuke shelters from here to Gettysburg’s brooding battleground.

Nug will remember this part the best (if the shrooms hadn’t done away with his mind during that infamous performance by Joni Mitchell at Yasgur’s Farm). Hitler had just summoned his best Kamikaze’s to storm Normandy. The world was on edge. Yet, no one could have predicted the Führer’s coordinate miscalculation – a beheamothian-blunder that sent his blood-thirsty armada of Buffalo Soldier’s, led by the Red Baron himself, away from Normandy and onto the shores of Seignosse.

There, The Mailman and I were pulling into A-frames that would make the lusty sweep of Alana Blanchard’s akimbo’d legs and derriere weep with shame. This is not blasphemy. This is the rotten truth. Our unmolested shacks were enough to grab the attention of the invading Axis of Power, make them rethink their convictions, and convince Patton to send them back to their blessed home in Dresden.

I’d say that The Mailman and I changed the face of the world that day using only our trusty dry-suits, three chords of redwood, and The Truth.

Po-tee-tweet.

17 02 2010
Enoch Ward

In other words, my shoulders are sore, my ribs ache, and I’m glad to be stationed in Southern California for a few more months.

Bring it Huey!

Not you Da Hooey. Your shit grew week and weary back in Mike’s hayday.

17 02 2010
Enoch Ward

P.s.,

Charlie Browne won’t understand anything I just wrote, but he can at least link together a few turns… in his limber lips whilst he works the glory hole at the truckstop just a few k’s off the A2.

Poop-dee-twit.

17 02 2010
Mark

Ala Moana Bowl for 30 straight days in June 2009. The bad days were head high and there were at least 7 or 8 legitimate 6 to 8 foot days in the Bowl. And flawless conditions. Ben Aipa said it was the best stretch he had ever seen.

North Shore Oahu late January to mid March 2008. The best run of surf and conditions I have seen in 35 years of participation. Pipe was ALL TIME on at least 15 separate days during this stretch ( not saying I was charging Pipe except on the gentler days ). Haleiwa was as good as it gets for weeks. The weather during that run was extremely hot and sunny with light southeast winds pretty much every single day. I read somewhere that Reef Macintosh was praying for it to drop by the first week of March.

The summer of 1996 in southern California ( I hear ya Chris ). Pretty much the best summer ever topped off by the massive south in late July. La Jolla reefs were a realistic 8 foot plus during that swell with epic conditions.

Kauai from November 1982 until March 1983. Hurricane Iwa flexed her might right before Thanksgiving and pretty much ruined half of the hotels so there weren’t really any visitors to speak of. Then El Nino roared to life and it PUMPED, I mean fucking PUMPED for 3 months. I remember a day in late January 83 when 98 Rock, the radio station from Oahu, was calling Kaena Point 60 foot Hawaiian and we actually surfed a well known left on the SOUTH SHORE of Kauai at 6 foot plus perfection with the west swell wrap.

Southern California winter 2009-2010. I haven’t surfed as much as I would have liked but have to say it has been, especially when you factor in the conditions, a 10 on a 10 scale for here. If you had the time and the boards and the mobility you could have surfed yourself silly these past 3 months.

Gotta go. I hear a new swell is due to hit today.

17 02 2010
Frank woodbury

Lunada Bay.

Nuff said.

17 02 2010
Mike

Wasn’t hurricane Iwa in ’92 Mark?

@Elwood, your current situation is unfortunate and all too common…. bittersweet for surf, but tough on the family.

February ’83, my buddy and I were stopped at Topanga, PCH closed. He didn’t make it out at boneyards and I got swept into the bay when I duck dove a telephone pole(?). I took the next wave in and made it to the Chart House parking lot, hustled back to the car and Paul had negotiated a deal with a Cal Trans worker…. some good skunk for a ride to Malibu. We tucked under a tarp in the back of the truck and we were deposited at the pier.

DOH and draining, the creek had emptied at Kiddie Bowl (ruining the best surf spot in Cali unbenknowst to us at the time) and deposited a Kirra like sand bank all the way to the pier. Paul, myself and Jay Riddle all day long, dredging barrels.

Exhausted, we went to the bus stop for our prearranged ride back with the Cal trans dude… (another fat bud). He never shows. Tide is very high and everyone on the ocean side of PCH had opened their garage doors to allow the surf to pass through their homes onto the street! We walked all the way back to Topanga with residents crying as their furniture was washing away.

Meanwhile, the hillsides were sliding and at Big Rock, the street was hip deep in mud. We went through a womans house and “launched” into the water from her deck and drifted in the dark back to Topanga. So gnarly worrying about more telephone poles or furniture.

I remember feeling so guilty about such an epic day while the entire coast was being devastated.

Well, only so guilty and Supertubes was siiiiiiick the next day.

17 02 2010
Mike

Hey boys…. if you want to see the winter of ’83…..

I met a dude named Morgan in Lennox that spring who told me he had filmed an entire movie between Drainpipes and Pt Mugu that year. His company and film name was “Runman” and production quality was amateur. The surfers were underground Malibu, but he captured all the esoteric spots that make the myth of Northern Malibu. Encinal, supertubes, Trancas Point… etc.

If he tried to film it any other era, it would have taken ten years to document so many fickle breaks. Funny thing was, I never saw him filming and he missed a lot of big days…. that’s how good it was, everyday fantasy.

If someone finds the film, let me know.

Too bad Blasphemy is no longer with us… Morgan filmed some sick (literal) footage of grom abuse that would have him in prison today. Enoch is too refined to enjoy such mayhem… and if my weed induced memory serves correct… Surf Punks soundtrack.

Watch the trash can grom being pushed down the hill into PCH traffic (?). That’ll make Trauzer’s luge fascination ring.

17 02 2010
Jamon Bagel

Mike is right about 1997…I have pics of a certain beachbreak north of point Mugu and south of Ventura, that, well, if you’d had a 26-foot winnebago with four Maurice Cole reverse concave tri fins instead of tires, you could’ve dropped in and parked that thing in the barrel while you served perfectly chilled martinis from the mini-fridge to your cadre of vapid-but-succulent aspiring dancers that you picked up in Calabasas the night before. You just would’ve had to turn on the windshield wipers for the spit, or you might’ve had trouble with your cutback.

17 02 2010
Jamon Bagel

…on the other hand, if you’d tried it in a wetsuit on your minigun at low tide, you would’ve ended up firstly as part of the 10-foot-thick lip, and secondly as part of the fossil record, as youd’ve been pile driven so very deeply into the sedimentary layer.

17 02 2010
Mike

Yeah Jamon…. breaking right into the harbor, I was there.

Unfortunately, they dredged the harbor three years ago and killed 8 miles of sandbars, no longer exists. The trench is so deep now, you could navigate a nucleur sub through what was the impact zone. It has not been surfable this year on any tide.

On that note…. ’83 killed Malibu (second and third pts RIP) and changed Newps to this day. Believe it or not, but Newps was world class pre ’83… every jetty was a point break and the ghetto was a non stop party. Heady times.

17 02 2010
Mike

Oh Jamon…. I still have a reverse vee in my moms garage.

17 02 2010
Elwood

Where can I subscribe to “Mike’s Journal”?

Keep it rolling… I love all this reminiscing shit.

17 02 2010
mark

@Mike

Iwa was “82. Iniki was ’92.

17 02 2010
Jamon Bagel

I prefer to remember it as it was. Motorhome…martinis…and that lovable character, El Zorb.

17 02 2010
Jamon Bagel

Mike, dude, how is it that you never saw a Runman vid? The stuff of legend. Click my name for a clip.

17 02 2010
lazer®

Concur with mark about Town this past summer, even though he never saw me out at Kaisers. Kook.

17 02 2010
Mark

I saw you at Kaisers lazer, waiting for people to fall off in the barrel so you could hop a few safety shoulders. Very sad.

17 02 2010
Dave Mailman

It’s been so damn cold here my fingers are growing icicles. I never thought I’d be jealous of everyone I left behind in So Cal, but hearing all of your stories of this winter (and seeing shots some of the CDM boys have sent over), I must say FUCK YOU ALL !!! With a smile of course! Lucky buggers! It’s been so cold here the cement bunkers the Germans left behind (when EW and I were surfing Seignosse back) in the 40’s have been covered in snow for the last week or so. With the exception of a few days last week, the surf has been average, and booties, hoods and gloves de rigueur. Not that I would know from first hand experience, since I’ve been dealing with bankers, notaries and real estate agents. Not all that bad, since I’ll be moving into a new house in a few months, but still… Anyway, hope you all get shacked for me. I’ll be thinking of you. Before I go though just wanted to let you all know how to find the Runman. Fucking classics, that if you’ve never seen, you owe it yourself to do so before you die!
Au revoir motherfuckers!
DM

Runman One, Runman Two and Runman ’69 released with bonus award-winning short
– – Runman is Baaaack and sliding down your chimney with a boxed set of their cult classics that includes Runman One, Runman Two ‘n Runman ’69. And that’s not all: You also get the all-new, award-winning Runman’s Groms: Starring Lil’ Ray N His Frenz which was the toast of The New York Surf Film Festival.
Don’t miss the most radical, funniest, real-deal movies ever!!! Go to runmanfilms.com to get the box set.
http://www.runmanfilms.com

17 02 2010
buccaneer

Au revoir Pee Wee!

17 02 2010
mark

Mark at 14:15 was not me. Looks like someone is playing games again.

17 02 2010
Enoch Ward

@Mark,

Why don’t you just create a free account through WordPress? You can create a blogger account, or, just an account that you can use to comment. You can even get yourself a cool avatar. Then Mike… errr some anonymous person can’t use your clever name.

Shoots, you’ll ALMOST be as cool as me.

Tell your mom I’ll be a little late for dinner tonight.

Kthxbye.

17 02 2010
Enoch Ward

Additionally,

The Run Man movies were sick. In a good way. I have all of them right next to my vaunted ‘Bovine Pr0n: Greatest Clips From The Last Decade’ box set.

17 02 2010
Mike

Wish that clip showed more surfing Jamon…. but I miss the dead Kennedy’s. One show in Pedro had the fire department unleash hoses on the mosh pit… I got sloshed as I moshed! Fuckin good times, I took more beatings at shows than I did in massive swells. For those of you who like punk, the masque in Hollywood was ground zero of gnarly. The gilded cage on Placentia… basically TSOL’s stage was sick too. Nothing like the Zoobies cowboys across the parking lot from an exiting punk show…. Yeee haw! How did I survive?

Tell you what… after living the punk first wave, Jamon’s friend El zorb wasn’t too intimidating. Although I was a big pussy and suited up on Channel Islands before I even drove into Strand. Surf well, surf quiet and avoid the cholo’s… run to the car and get off of the penninsula before anyone had time to spot you. Like sneaking into Mugu, except with harsher punishment. I saw some shit go down. Shame what’s happened to law and order now that judicial bullshit got in the way of localism. Cluster fuck, party of one your table is ready…..

Mark, you’re right… I forgot about Iniki, thanks. That island was clusterfucked though with construction opportunists and a lazy north shore turned violent. I retreated to the west side for some peace, but the script had been written and it was a mess. You guys see what has happened to Centers and acid drops these days? Not much Aloha.

How crazy was ’92-’93? The OJ/Rodney king riots… Laguna and Malibu fires, the LA earthquake destroying the Robertson exit of the fucking Santa Monica Freeway (!)… seriously, what else could happen? The police in LA realized that they had no control and allowed looting.

Fun stuff guys and even a Mailman in the house!

17 02 2010
Jamon Bagel

Really, who hasn’t posted as Mark at least once? C’mon, be honest now….

Damn MIke, you and the hammy led parallel lives. I was at a DK show, it was either Long Beach or Pedro, and they tear gassed the place, then you had to run a phalanx of cops with batons to get out while they took healthy swings at your legs. I was hobbled for weeks. Then there was the Galaxy in Fullerton, where you could catch the Vandals throwing live frogs into the pit. Fucking gross. And yeah, the Masque was goddamn gnarly. But the scene didn’t get truly scary till the suicidal boys brought good old fashioned murder into the picture…

For the riots I watched TV for awhile, then went and surfed El Porto halfway decent and watched the columns of smoke rising inland. Couldn’t figure out what else to do with myself.

Weirdest thing of all though, for about 2 days after the earthquake, everyone in LA was nice to each other. I swear to Laird, all the traffic lights were out and people were waving each other ahead at intersections.

That wore off quick though.

17 02 2010
Enoch Ward

Well, it should be obvious to all by now that our dearest Nug has passed on to meet his Laird and Saviour at the great Bonzai Pipeline in the sky. He hasn’t called; he hasn’t written; and he hasn’t shown up on the CCTV camera surveillance system I set up in his house. I even called the lifeguard station in Newport to see if a bloated body that slightly resembled Pauley Shore had washed up… all for naught.

I imagine he and Lewis are huddled in a smoke-filled room with Chas Smith and Derek Reilly, furiously hammering out their comeback’s to the surfing blogosphere. Unfortunately, team LewNug-tic are continually having to rebuff team DickCheese’s continual demands for a game of naked Twister. Eventually, they settle on a plot to kill Alex Knost; stuff his carcass with Tim Baker’s petrified creative impulses, clippings of JO’B’s illiterate ramblings on Twitter and Perry Hatchett’s old score cards; before mounting the edifice in Brody Carr’s front yard.

They will, of course, be subsequently sentenced to death by team Power Balance® via brutal Dutch-ovens administered by Kala Alexander. But they will go down as true martyrs.

The only pertinent question that remains is this: who will get Nug’s cannabis stash?

17 02 2010
GT

Naked Twister??? I accept!!!

17 02 2010
Mike

Apparently Blasphemy is bored by Nostalgia Central.

17 02 2010
Enoch Ward

@Mike,

I have been thoroughly entertained by your reminiscing. I’ve thumbed through many articles detailing the times you speak of, but nothing beats hearing of it from the horse’s mouth… so to speak. I missed out on much of your discussions having grown up in the Northwest before being ushered off to various and sundry locales at the behest of my iron-fisted father. I can’t contribute much to your musings.

It’s almost as if you should start your own blog whereby you post brief versions of your storied life with whatever photographic and video evidence that may have survived the great fireplace massacre.

*hint, hint… nudge, wink, nudge, nudge, wink, wink*

I know me and Elwood would read it. Mark will probably read it too once he finishes his Hooked on Phonics class.

Seriously.

I may be moderately inebriated, but I know an interesting thing when I hear it.

17 02 2010
the honorable Siler McShaftus

It is the court’s opinion that Blasphemy Rottmout’s subsequent name change it Enoch Ward is without merit, holds no water, and has no leg to stand on. Please revert sir, with the original avatar picture too, of course.

Hooked on phonics is bonerfide…I will allow it.

Fuck alkeehall!!!

Thank you for your service today,

SMS, Esq.

(Enclosures)

17 02 2010
Mike

I met flippy and walter Hoffman in mainland ten years ago… and a man named John Creed (still rad and 60!). I wasn’t very reverent of the old crew until we shared beers one night and I realized how similar our lives were…despite different eras. I just got lucky with better equipment… maybe an uncrowded window.

They are surf rats and so am I. So are all you and we are all lucky to share this forum and exchange experiences.

While I lived in the OC, a popular bumper sticker read… “He who dies with the most toys wins”. A perfect synopsis of empty lives. I loved that place, but it grew away from it’s premise and I had to leave.

When they bury us, they will bury adventurous lives and we are all brothers in that pursuit, regardless of eras.

My ex wife burned 15 years of my documentation, but she couldn never earn my soul. And this cockroach is still charging.

Get well Nug so we can go back to infighting!

Leave a Reply

