The Lewis Samuels Interview

10 09 2009

RIP Postsurf

PostSurf is dead. Long live PostSurf.

Blogging is tricky beast. It takes your soul, grinds it in a blender and feeds it to the dregs of humanity. On September 4th Samuels quit and PostSurf died.

Samuels’ final post was a somewhat cryptic message. In it he stated “This is not real life. Go towards the light.  The exit is up ahead. Finish reading this post, close the window behind you, and emerge into the brightness of a new day.  There’s nothing here for you anymore.  The PostSurf project is complete.

I am not Lewis Samuels.”

He agreed to answer a few questions for Nugable.

PostSurf was one of the few quality, independent surf blogs on the Internet. Why did you decide to hang it up? And will there be a void left behind as a result?
I’m not sure if there will be a void, but I think that readers will go searching for alternative perspectives on other independent sites.  Hopefully that will be one of the good things that comes out of PostSurf.

In terms of why PostSurf is finished…

There’s always going to be more to the decision than I can reveal, and it’s best not to go into all the details.  Take that for what it’s worth – people will continue to speculate about the “real” reason, and I think that’s fitting, in a way – PostSurf was all about getting people to think a bit more about what’s behind the glossy marketing veneer we’re presented with by the surf industry.

I started PostSurf in order to rearrange the playing field a bit.  It was something between a crusade and an art project. I wanted to hold up a mirror to surf culture, and show people what’s actually there – instead of showing people what the surf industry wants us to think is there.

Blogging is a cruel mistress. Most people probably don’t realize how tedious and difficult it is at times to maintain a daily blog. It really is a lot harder than it appears isn’t it?
We live in a culture where consumers focus on the finished product and often ignore the effort that goes into creating that product – whether it’s a movie, magazine, or blog.  It makes sense, from the consumer’s point of view – often content is more compelling when you don’t acknowledge the boring details of how that content is created.

The downside of that is viewers begin to take things for granted; they almost begin to feel entitled to quality content, delivered daily, for free.

In your final post you seemed to drop a few clues. Were you purposely vague and what did you mean by stating “the surf industry is not surfing?”
I meant just that – the surf industry is not surfing.  Surfing is surfing, and the surf industry is an industry that has profiteered off of surfing.

The comments sections of Postsurf were hilarious at times. Were you surprised by the amount of feedback and comments? Did you have any favorite commenters? What about your favorite post?
The reaction to PostSurf was an important part of the project. Surfing is often a dark, anarchic act, and the comments reflected that. Some were genius – anonymous sickos producing beautiful introspective prose… and some were just garbage. I wasn’t surprised that I got a lot of feedback, but it was a bit surprising to see how close of a personal relationship some commenters developed with the site.  I definitely think some of those guys took the site more seriously than I did, and spent way more time on it.  I’d sometimes go a week without reading comments, and I certainly didn’t have the spare time to comment on the site myself. But I’m stoked that readers cared enough to comment – some of them ironically, and some without any irony at all – it turned into this brilliant hateful anarchy… fascinating and completely depressing at the same time.
In terms of favorite posts, I think the ones that worked best were posts where I had stumbled across something so ludicrous that it seemed almost meant for PostSurf.  Like Stand Up World Tour, or PowerBalance. Those topics produced posts where both the readers and I couldn’t believe how fucking ridiculous the topic at hand was.

What is next for Lewis Samuels?
I’m going to go for a surf, have a drink, cash some checks, and take my dog for a walk.  I’m trying to decide in what order to do those things.

Actions

Information

12 responses

10 09 2009
Dave Mailman

Nice work Nug!

10 09 2009
Dave Mailman

Mark will be even more stoked than me to see he made the graffiti on the headstone!

10 09 2009
Kelly Slater

1st again. This is too easy.

10 09 2009
JB

Holy shit. Is Lewis going to do Sal Masakala’s hollywood jerk fest next? At least this interview was an independent blog.

10 09 2009
Kelly Slater

Wait a second…

10 09 2009
Blasphemy Rottmouth

First!

10 09 2009
Blasphemy Rottmouth

I too, asked Lewis for an interview, but all he said was “Are you kidding me? If you ask me that question again, my mustache will jack your shit up, muthafucka! I don’t know you. Don’t call me; don’t write me; and stay the hell out of the bushes beneath my bedroom window you sick bastid!! Good-bye.”

So, I packed up my blankie and waddled home.

Such is life, for a rotten soul like mine.

But hey, I got three shout-outs on your tomb, so I’ll pour one out for you tonight.

10 09 2009
The Nug

@Mailman
Feel free to come back often, sleep on the couch and throw beer bottles.

@BR
Stay away from the absinthe. One interesting tidbit is Lewis chose not to answer the question I asked about what will happen to the Power Rankings. it’s fairly clear he will be working with Stab in some fashion, but it’s not clear what would happen to the PRs. Could there be a bidding war? It is mysterious.

10 09 2009
Clay Marzo's Demons

What the fuck! Is this guy full of himself or what? Postsurf was “something between a crusade and an art project.” Take it easy Salvador Dali. I don’t see any dead Christians and your art blows.

10 09 2009
Lewis' Foreskin

Does anyone know where I can find a good mohel in the San Clemente area?

11 09 2009
ramboestrada

I don’t even know what a “mohel” is

26 06 2010
Occy's Mum

Firsties. Eat that BR.

Leave a Reply

